Don’t Wing It! Major Gifts Webinar with Kathie Kramer Ryan

The Nonprofit Academy Members’ August Webinar Don’t Wing It! – Major Gift Mistakes Even Smart Fundraisers Make August 14, 1pm ET (noon CT / 11am MT / 10am PT) In this webinar, Kathie Kramer Ryan will share the critical mistakes often made by even the most seasoned development professionals when working with major donors – […]

Continue reading

How Mr. T can help your nonprofit fundraising. Seriously.

Here’s a short video explaining one of the most important aspects of fundraising: shutting up. When you’ve done all the researching, engaging, and you’ve just made the ask…the decision is out of your control. And that’s ok. In my fundraising training, I recommend picturing Mr. T at this moment. He’ll help keep you from confusing […]

Continue reading

15 Social Media Tips for Ministry Fundraising

This month’s Church Executive features an interview with me on how pastors can use social media for fundraising. The editor pulled out 15 of the most important tips I’ve learned, both pastoring a church and in coaching church planters and others in ministry fundraising. It was fun to see what she chose! Social media tips […]

Continue reading

4 Disney Lessons to Transform Your Donor Retention

I’m just finishing up another family trip to Walt Disney World. Every time I’m here, I study the culture, habits, and design of the parks and resorts. I’m fascinated by their attention to detail, their ability to create brand new merchandising opportunities, and their ability to engage guests of all levels. I’ve written about lessons […]

Continue reading

Your steering wheel: the single most important tool for making effective fundraising asks

The response to my “it’s not the donor’s first date” post to CEO’s has been wonderful! I’ve received emails, tweets, and comments saying this was the best post they’ve seen in years. As Heather Stewart points out in the comments to the post, major donors actually get annoyed when the CEO doesn’t ask! I completely […]

Continue reading

Nonprofit Blog Carnival call for submissions: Care and feeding of presidents

I’m honored to be hosting the February 2014 Nonprofit Blog Carnival! In previous years, February has been dedicated to how to show yourself (the fundraiser) some love and how to show donors love so they’ll want to keep coming back. This year, we’re going to take a different approach. Send me your Presidents, your CEO’s, […]

Continue reading